An Ombre Hello Card

Hi there!  Today I have a very simple card to share with you based on this sketch from Seven Hills Crafts Monthly Challenge Blog:

And here is my take-on:

IMG_20170413_150158_195

I’m in loving with watercolouring recently, and especially Gansai Tambi paint – so creamy and easy to work with.  So I started off with 2 pieces of watercolour paper cut down to a standard C6 size, and a 3/4 flat brush from Ranger, some clean water and 2 shades of blue/teal paint colours.  I gave both pieces of paper a generous coat of clean water using the flat brush, and used wet on wet technique brought in the colours. The piece on the right I wanted to use it as a background, so I went really light-handed, and for the piece on the left, I wanted to die cut shapes from that, so I used more paint and made it darker.

IMG_20170412_131411_734

I left them over night, and in the morning when they are completely dried, they looked like this:

IMG_20170412_131454_426

I ran the lighter one with We R Memory Keepers’ Next Level Embossing Folder through my big shot, and oh my, don’t you just LOVE the dimensions!

20170413_141639

For the darker piece, I stamped Neat and Tangled Faceted stamp with clear embossing ink and white embossing powder, then heat set it.  I also die cut lots of hearts from this piece using MFT Die-namics pierced heart stax.

20170413_143214

I also die cut a Hello die from MFT Die-namics (dis-continued) on a piece of black foam and black card as the sentiment.

The rest was pretty easy and quick. I adhered everything with either foam tape or liquid glue, I also added a few sparkly clear sequins from PPP to finish off the card.

 

I hope you like the card.  Most of the supplies that I used for this card are linked to Seven Hills Crafts store in case you are interested.

Have a wonderful Easter.

 

Love,

Yiming x

One thought on “An Ombre Hello Card

  1. That’s a beautiful ombre background and i love how the stamps you chose compliment the embossing so well 🙂 Lovely take on the sketch.
    Thanks for playing along with our sketch challenge this month at Seven Hills Crafts 🙂
    Jenny x

    Like

Leave a Reply

