Hugs

Hello again.  Just popping in to share a card with you that I made based on the middle colour combo.

I have always loved grey and yellow together, they just like salt and pepper- the perfect match.  So here is my take on.

img_20170208_220613_156-1

For the background, I stamped these triangles stamp (My Favorite Things) repeatedly on a piece of fog cardstock from Simon Says Stamp, using Altenew grey inks (in the shades of Lava rock, Moon rock and Evening gray) for an ombre look.

Then I cut a piece of thick vellum to be just slightly longer than the cardstock, and foled the top over and adhered the top from the back.  I stamped some peonies from Altenew  Peony Scrolls on the vellum with embossing ink and Hero Arts white embossing powder, then heat set it.  I coloured the peonies with my Prismacolor pencils in two yellow shades.

20170208_212132

I also white embossed my sentiment HUGS (Wplus9 – That is all set), and currently this sentiment stamp set is my favourite, I use it on most of my cards, I just love the hand painted bold font.

img_20170208_220738_501

I added some sequins in the end, and adhered the front panel on to a cardbase.  That finished the card.

img_20170208_220613_156-1

 

A question for you, how much stuff/how many tools do you use to make a card usually?  Well, these are the stuff I used to make this card (cardstock and vellum aren’t included):

img_20170208_220903_167

I often laugh about myself and my obsession for craft supplies – why spent £2.50 to buy a card from a shop when you can use your £100 crafting tool to make one?!

Anyway, hope you like this card, see you soon on blogland.

Ta.

Yiming x

 

challenge:  Seven hills crafts monthly challenge.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Hugs

  1. Another gorgeous card! I love the vellum overlay, allowing the pretty flowers to show against that fabulous geometric background. Thanks for joining us at the Seven Hills Crafts Challenge. Hope we see you again next month.

    Like

  2. estherpatrick says:

    What a fantastic, contemporary and super stylish card! I absolutely love the geometric background, and softening it with a vellum overlay looks brilliant. The florals are gorgeous… I love a bit of Altenew. You did make me laugh about the £100 crafting tools! I know exactly what you mean! Thanks so much for playing along with us again at Seven Hills Crafts 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

